Nobel Prize 2020 winners name announced from 5th October to 12th October 2020. The Noble prize is given to six different categories such as Physiology & Medicine, Physics, Chemistry, Literature, Economics, and Peace. Nobel Prize winners selected by a committee of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Karolinska  Institute, Swedish Academy, and Norweigan Nobel Committee.

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2020:

  • Emmanuelle Charpentier (France) and Jennifer A. Doudna(USA) are two female biochemists to win the Nobel Prize 2020 in Chemistry.  
  • Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer A. Doudna are working in Max Planck Unit for the science of Pathogens in Germany and the University of California, Berkeley in the USA respectively. 
  • This is the first time in the history of science noble that is awarded to two women.


  •  Both are awarded for " Development of a method for genome editing". 
  • They discovered one of gene technology's sharpest tools known as the" CRISPR/Cas 9 genetic scissors".  
  • The CRISPR/Cas 9 stands for "Clusters for regularly interspaced short palindromic repeats"
  • The protein Cas9 is an enzyme that acts like a pair of molecular scissors that has capable of cutting strands of DNA.


  • This technology has had a revolutionary impact on life on the life of science, is contributing to new cancer therapies, and may make the dream of curing inherited disease and plant inbreeding. 
  • with the help of Cas9, researchers can change the DNA of animals, plants, and microorganisms with extremely high precision. 
Noble Prize 2020 winners list
Emmanuelle Charpentier & Jennifer A. Doudna

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2020:

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2020 was awarded to Roger Penrose(England), and jointly to Reinhard Genzel (Germany) and Andrea Ghez(USA)  for their discoveries about the black hole.


  • Roger Penrose was awarded " for the discovery that black hole formation is a robust prediction of the general theory of relativity". Penrose showed black holes may exist forming in a stable, robust process.
  • Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez were awarded " for the discovery of a supermassive compact object at the center of our galaxy." This extremely heavy object has a mass equivalent to 4 million solar masses and is packed into an area about the size of our solar system.

The Nobel Prize in Physiology & Medicine 2020:

The Nobel Prize in Physiology & Medicine 2020 was awarded to Harvey J. Alter(USA), Michael Houghton(Britain), and Charles M. Rice(USA) " for the discovery of Hepatitis C virus".


  • The methodical studies of transfusion-associated hepatitis by Harvey J. Alter. He demonstrated that an unknown virus was a common cause of chronic hepatitis. 
  • Michael Houghton used an untested strategy to isolate the genome of the new virus that was named "Hepatitis C virus".  
  • Charles M. Rice provided the final evidence showing that the Hepatitis C virus was alone could cause hepatitis. 


  • Their discoveries have helped design sensitive blood tests that eliminate the risk of transfusion-transmitted hepatitis. 
  • It is also helped develop antiviral drugs directed at hepatitis C.

The Nobel Prize in Literature 2020:

  • The Nobel Prize in Literature 2020 was awarded to American poet Louise Gluck  " for her unmistakable poetic voice that with austere beauty makes individual existence universal". 
  • She has since then published twelve collections and some volumes of essays on poetry. 
  • Some famous collectins are " The Wild Iris" and " Averno". She was the first American writer to win the Nobel prize for literature in 27 years.

The Nobel Prize in Peace 2020:

  • The Nobel Prize in Peace 2020 was awarded to the World Food Programme(WFP).
  • World Food Programme is awarded " for its efforts to combat hunger, for its contribution to bettering conditions for peace in conflict-affected areas and for acting as a driving force in efforts to prevent the use of hunger as a weapon of war and conflict".

 The Nobel Prize in Economics 2020:

  • The Nobel Prize in Economics 2020 was awarded to Paul R. Milgrom and Robert B. Wilson.
  • They are awarded for " improvements to auction theory and inventions of new auction formats". 

Previous Post Next Post