The National flag of India is horizontal rectangular in shape which consists of tricolour strips with Ashoka Chakra. Tricolours in the national flag of India are Saffron(top), White(middle) and Green(Below). The Ashoka Chakra in the middle of the flag consists of twenty-four spoke with navy blue colour.

Indian flag History:

  • Indian flag designed based on the Swaraj flag which was used by the Indian National Congress. 
  • The Indian National Flag designed by Pingali Venkayya. He designed the first Indian National Congress flag in 1931 but after independence, it was modified in 1947. 
  • On 22 July 1947, Constitution assembly adopted the design of the national flag and became the official flag of India on 15 August 1947.

Indian flag design: 

  • Indian flag is commonly known as " Trianga" which means three colours in the flag. 
  • Indian flag is 2:3 in proportion in breadth and length. 
  • The national flag of India consists of tricolour which consists of Saffron, white and green colour respectively, and a navy blue wheel with twenty-four spokes in the centre.

Manufacturing of Indian flag: 

  • According to the Indian Government, Khadi development and village industries commission have the sole right to manufacture the Indian flag. 
  • The Indian flag is made by Khadi cloth of silk or cotton. 
  • Its manufacturing process and specifications are laid out by the Bureau of Indian Standards(BIS).
  • Karnataka Khadi Gramodyoga Samyukta Sangha in Hubli is the only licenced flag production and supply unit in India.

Indian flag's dimensions: 

  • Indian flag's ratio is two by three(2:3) which means the length of the flag is 1.5 times more than that of the breadth of the flag. 
  • Three strips of the Indian flag are equal in length and width.

Indian flag size:

Sr. No.

Length & Width(mm)

Size of Ashoka Chakra(mm)


150 X100



225 X 150



450 X 300



900 X 600



1350 X 900



1800 X 1200



2700 X 1800



3600 X 2400



6300 X 4200


Symbolism: Indian flag colour Information

Tricolour and Wheel in the National flag mean its importance in India:

Indian flag information

  • Saffron Colour (Bhagwa) in the Indian flag stands for  Strength and Courage of the country.
  • White Colour in the Indian flag stands for  Peace, Truth and Purity.
  • Green Colour in the  Indian flag stands for fertility, growth and auspiciousness of the land.
  • Ashoka Chakra in the middle of the Indian flag represents life in movement and death in stagnation. Ashoka Chakra is known as Dharma Chakra or Wheel of Law and was taken from Sarnath Lion Capital which was made by emperor Ashoka in 3rd century BC.

Flag Codes of India:

  • Indian flag should be made from Khadi cloth of Silk or Cotton.
  • During the Indian flag hoisting time, everybody should face the flag and stand at attention.
  • No other object can be placed higher than the flag.
  • The flag should not touch the ground.
  • The flag should be lowered after sunset.

Indian Flag facts:

  • Dr Rajendra Prasad was head of Flag committee.
  • Indian flag first hoisted by Sacchindra Prasad Bose at Calcutta in 1906.
  • Madam Bhikaji Kama was the first Indian to hoist the Indian flag at Stuttgart( Germany) in 1907.
  • Pingali Venkayya was designer of Indian flag who was an agriculturist and Indian freedom fighter.
  • Hoisting of the Indian flag is a fundamental right under Article 19(i) (a) of the constitution since 2002 after the Supreme Court's decision. 


If any query on articles related to ask me

Post a comment

If any query on articles related to ask me

Previous Post Next Post