Andaman Nicobar and Lakshadweep Islands are the group of Islands situated in the Bay of Bengal and the Arabian Sea in India respectively. 

Andaman and Nicobar Islands:

  • Andaman and Nicobar islands consist of an elongated chain of islands in Bay of Bengal.
  •  The islands are an elevated portion of submarine mountains.
  • Latitude: 6° to 14° N latitude   
  • Longitude: 92° to 94° E longitude
  • The Andaman and Nicobar islands consist of 572 islands and only 38 islands are inhabited.
  •  Andaman and Nicobar islands consist of three districts: North and Middle Andaman, South Andaman and Nicobar
  • Total land areas are 467 km long and 521 km wide.

Andaman Nicobar and Lakshadweep Islands

Andaman and Nicobar islands are divided into two parts:

  • Andaman  islands 
  • Nicobar  Islands

Andaman  islands: 

  • Andaman Islands are continuation of Arakan Yoma mountain range of Myanmar and form an elevated portion of Submarine Mountains.
  • Sequence of Islands from North to South: Landfall Island, Northern Andaman, Middle Andaman, South Andaman, and Little Andaman. 
  • Landfall Island is the Northernmost island of Andaman and Nicobar islands. 
  •  Landfall island of India is separated from the Coco Island of Myanmar through the Coco strait. 
  • North Andaman: Mount Saddle Peak (732m) is the highest peak of Andaman and Nicobar Islands.
  •  Middle Andaman: This island is the largest island of the Andaman group of Islands.
  •  South Andaman: Port Blair is the capital of Andaman and Nicobar Islands situated in South Andaman. Famous Cellular jail is also situated here. Bench of Kolkata High court situated.
  •  Little Andaman: separated from South Andaman through Duccan Passage. 
  • Great Andaman consists of North Andaman, Middle Andaman and South Andaman.

Nicobar Islands:

  •  Andaman groups of Islands separated from the Nicobar Islands through a 10° channel which is 150 Km in width.
  •  North to South:  Carnicobar, little Nicobar and Great Nicobar. 
  • These islands are of coral origin
  • Indira point or Pygmalion point in Great Nicobar is the southernmost point of India and submerged into sea during Tsunami in 2004.
  • The Great Nicobar Island is only 150 km away from Sumatra Island of Indonesia. 
  • Mount Thuillier (642m) is the highest peak in Nicobar Islands.

Andaman Nicobar and Lakshadweep Islands
Swaraj Island

Natural vegetation of Andaman and Nicobar islands: There are four types of forest found in Andaman and Nicobar islands. 

  • Tropical Evergreen Forest,
  •  Tropical Semi-Evergreen Forest, 
  • Tropical Moist Deciduous Forest and 
  • Littoral and Swamps Forest.  
  • Grasslands are found in Nicobar Island

National Parks:

  • Campbell National Park 
  • Galathea National Park 
  • Mahatma Gandhi Marine National Park 
  • Middle Button Island National Park 
  • Mount Harriet National Park 
  • North Button Island National Park 
  • South Button Island National Park 
  • Saddle Peak National Park 
  • Rani Jhansi National Park

More Information about National Park


  • Andaman and Nicobar islands have Tropical climate with humid weather. 
  • Rain occurs  in a year from the S-W monsoon and the N-E monsoon
  • The S-W monsoon first reached Andaman and Nicobar islands earlier than the  Mainland of India.

Indigenous People:

 Indigenous People of Andaman and Nicobar islands divided into two groups:

Negrito race:

  •  This group of Indigenous people live in Andaman Island.
  •  It includes The Great Andamanese , Onges and Jarwa and Sentinelese.

Mongoloids Race: 

  • This group of Indigenous people live in Nicobar Island. 
  • It includes Shompens and Nicobarese.

Facts about Andaman and Nicobar islands:

  • Only two volcanoes found in India: Extinct volcano found in Narcondam Island. 
  • Only active volcano found in Barren Island. 
  • Baratang in Andaman islands is the only mud volcano which found in India. 

Name of three islands changed:

  • Ross Island: Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose
  •  Neel Islands: Shaheed Island 
  • Havelock Island: Swaraj Island

Read More India location 

Lakshadweep Islands:

Andaman Nicobar and Lakshadweep Islands

  • Lakshadweep Islands is a Sanskrit word which means “one Hundred Thousand Islands'' and also means in Malayalam. 
  • Lakshadweep Islands are groups of Islands situated west of Malabar Coast of Kerala in Arabian Sea.
  •  It is the smallest union territory of India and covers only 32 sq. km area. 
  • All islands of Lakshadweep are of coral origin. It consists of 36 islands and only 10 for habitats. 
  • One district union administration and Kavaratti is capital of Lakshadweep Islands. 
  • North to South: Amindivi, laccadive and Minicoy Island. 
  • Minicoy Island is the largest island in groups of Islands. 
  • Minicoy Island separated from Maldives through an 8° channel.
  •  Minicoy Island separated from the Laccadive through an 9° channels.  
  • Agatti is the only island in this group has Airport. 
  • Pitti Island is Inhabited Island, Bird Sanctuary of Pelagic birds and breeding centre for Sea turtles.
  •  Main commercial crop is Coconut
  • Indigenious people: Aminidivi, Koyas, Malmis, Malacheris. 
  • No forest found in  Lakshadweep
  • Main island : Kavarati, Agatti, Minicoy and Amini. 
  • Androth is the nearest island to Kerala coast and the largest city also in   Lakshadweep Islands. 
  • No floral rich Islands groups

Post a Comment

If any query on articles related to ask me

Previous Post Next Post